Page 5 - March 2022
P. 5

  What was life like growing up for you? What kind of family did you grow up in?
Growing up for me was different from the average child. I was the youngest of 3, my dad was a laborer, and my mom was a stay-at-home mom. At the age of four, I was diagnosed with alopecia.
At seven years old, my family was involved in an alternating car accident. Shortly after the accident, my grandmother, who provided my family with financial stability, passed away. So, growing up, my family experienced tough times. As a result of the accident, my mom became disabled. However, my dad made too much money for her to qualify for Social Security Disability Insurance. So, growing up was a struggle.
How old were you when you knew this was your calling and what you were going to do for the rest of your life?
I became aware that I was called to fitness and coaching in high school. At around 16 years of age, sports and weightlifting completely changed my life. Sports and fitness impacted my social life positively, and my self-confidence was increased, which had a significant impact on my self-worth.
Were you a dreamer growing up? What kinds of dreams did you have?
I believe we are all dreamers. Everyone has aspirations and wants for a higher standard of living. One of the dreams I had for myself as a young adult was to be a UFC fighter. I didn't quite achieve that goal. But I did fight MMA, and I achieved more than others in the fight profession.
Photography-D’Mont Reese, @nthemagazine Make Up - Tanya Robinson, @tdrmakeup



























































































   3   4   5   6   7